View your shopping cart.

Primary links

Story of Ferdinand

Story of Ferdinand

$17.99
More Info
Now a major motion picture!

A true classic with a timeless message, The Story of Ferdinand has enchanted readers since it was first published in 1936. All the other bulls would run and jump and butt their heads together. But Ferdinand would rather sit and smell the flowers. And he does just that, until the day a bumblebee and some men from the Madrid bullfights give gentle Ferdinand a chance to be the most ferocious star of the corrida--and the most unexpected comic hero. This cherished hardcover is perfect for those who love Ferdinand, and those who have yet to meet him.

Sylvester and the Magic Pebble

Sylvester and the Magic Pebble

$19.99
More Info
One rainy day, Sylvester finds a magic pebble that can make wishes come true. But when a lion frightens him on his way home, Sylvester makes a wish that brings unexpected results. How Sylvester is eventually reunited with his loving family and restored to his own donkey self makes a story that is beautifully tender and perfectly joyful.
Illustrated with William Steig's glowing pictures, this winner of the 1970 Caldecott Medal is a modern classic beloved by children everywhere. Now reissued to celebrate the discovery of the original artwork, this deluxe edition contains painstakingly careful color corrections made from those watercolor originals -- the color you'll see within this book is as Mr. Steig had originally intended it to be. It also features his moving Caldecott Medal acceptance speech.
The New York Times Book Review wrote of Mr. Steig that everything he does is magic. This deluxe edition of Sylvester and the Magic Pebble truly recaptures that magic for a whole new generation of readers.
The Big Snow

The Big Snow

$7.99
More Info
The woodland animals were all getting ready for the winter. Geese flew south, rabbits and deer grew thick warm coats, and the raccoons and chipmunks lay down for a long winter nap. Come Christmastime, the wise owls were the first to see the rainbow around the moon. It was a sure sign that the big snow was on its way.
The Day the Crayons Quit

The Day the Crayons Quit

$17.99
More Info
The hilarious, colorful #1 New York Times bestselling phenomenon that every kid wants! Gift a copy to someone you love today.

Poor Duncan just wants to color. But when he opens his box of crayons, he finds only letters, all saying the same thing: His crayons have had enough! They quit! Blue crayon needs a break from coloring all those bodies of water. Black crayon wants to be used for more than just outlining. And Orange and Yellow are no longer speaking--each believes he is the true color of the sun. What can Duncan possibly do to appease all of the crayons and get them back to doing what they do best?

With giggle-inducing text from Drew Daywalt and bold and bright illustrations from Oliver Jeffers, The Day the Crayons Quit is the perfect gift for new parents, baby showers, back-to-school, or any time of year! Perfect for fans of Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems and The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Sciezka and Lane Smith.

Praise for The Day the Crayons Quit:

Amazon's 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
A Barnes & Noble Best Book of 2013
Goodreads' 2013 Best Picture Book of the Year
Winner of the E.B. White Read-Aloud Award

* "Hilarious . . . Move over, Click, Clack, Moo; we've got a new contender for the most successful picture-book strike." -BCCB, starred review

"Jeffers . . . elevates crayon drawing to remarkable heights." -Booklist

"Fresh and funny." -The Wall Street Journal

This book will have children asking to have it read again and again." -Library Media Connection

* "This colorful title should make for an uproarious storytime." -School Library Journal, starred review

* "These memorable personalities will leave readers glancing apprehensively at their own crayon boxes." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Utterly original." -San Francisco Chronicle

The Gruffalo

The Gruffalo

$17.99
More Info
Julia Donaldson's trademark rhyming text and Axel Scheffler's brilliant, characterful illustrations come together in this perfect read aloud

A mouse is taking a stroll through the deep, dark wood when along comes a hungry fox, then an owl, and then a snake. The mouse is good enough to eat but smart enough to know this, so he invents . . . the gruffalo! As Mouse explains, the gruffalo is a creature with terrible claws, and terrible tusks in its terrible jaws, and knobbly knees and turned-out toes, and a poisonous wart at the end of its nose. But Mouse has no worry to show. After all, there's no such thing as a gruffalo. . . .

The Jolly Postman

The Jolly Postman

$19.99
More Info
This nostalgic classic, including real letters, is a must-have for every child!

This gorgeously illustrated, full-color classic celebrates a time before email by depicting amusing correspondence between fairy tale and Mother Goose characters. What could possibly be in a letter from Goldilocks to the Three Bears? Who would write to the Wicked Witch? Open this book, take out the letters, and discover what favorite characters would write to each other--and reimagine best-loved tales together.

The Napping House

The Napping House

$18.99
More Info
A giftworthy hardcover edition of the classic cumulative tale that's perfect for bedtime, naptime...anytime! Listen and follow along with the bonus downloadable audio book.

In the napping house is a cozy bed piled high with a snoring granny, a dreaming child, a dozing dog, a snoozing cat, and a slumbering mouse. All is at peace until the appearance of an unexpected visitor and before you know it, no one is sleeping! This classic story by Audrey Wood and illustrated by Caldecott-honoree Don Wood is a must-have for the family library.

The Rabbit Listened

The Rabbit Listened

$17.99
More Info
A moving and universal picture book about empathy and kindness, sure to soothe heartaches big and small--now a New York Times bestseller

When something sad happens, Taylor doesn't know where to turn. All the animals are sure they have the answer. The chicken wants to talk it out, but Taylor doesn't feel like chatting. The bear thinks Taylor should get angry, but that's not quite right either. One by one, the animals try to tell Taylor how to act, and one by one they fail to offer comfort. Then the rabbit arrives. All the rabbit does is listen . . . which is just what Taylor needs.

With its spare, poignant text and irresistibly sweet illustration, The Rabbit Listened is about how to comfort and heal the people in your life, by taking the time to carefully, lovingly, gently listen.

The Stinky Cheese Man

The Stinky Cheese Man

$18.99
More Info
The entire book, with its unconventional page arrangement and eclectic, frenetic mix of text and pictures, is a spoof on the art of book design and the art of the fairy tale. The individual tales, such as The Really Ugly Duckling and Little Red Running Shorts, can be extracted for telling aloud, with great success. Another masterpiece from the team that created The True Story of the Three Little Pigs!
-Horn Book
Tikki Tikki Tembo

Tikki Tikki Tembo

$18.99
More Info

Tikki tikki tembo-no sa rembo-
chari bari ruchi-pip peri pembo!

Five decades and more than one million copies later children still love hearing about the boy with the long name who fell down the well. Arlene Mosel and Blair Lent's classic has hooked legions of children, teachers, and parents, who return, generation after generation, to learn about the danger of having such an honorable name as Tikki tikki tembo-no sa rembo-chari bari ruchi-pip peri pembo.

Tikki Tikki Tembo is the winner of the 1968 Boston Globe - Horn Book Award for Picture Books.

VERY HUNGRY CATERPILLAR

VERY HUNGRY CATERPILLAR

$21.99
More Info
THE all-time classic picture book, from generation to generation, sold somewhere in the world every 30 seconds! Have you shared it with a child or grandchild in your life?

Carle's classic tale of a voracious caterpillar who eats his way through the days of the week and then changes into a eautiful butterfly has been reissued in a sumptuous twenty-fifth anniversary edition with a shiny, silver-coated cover and wonderfully thick, durably pages.
--The Horn Book

The very hungry caterpillar literally eats his way through the pages of the book--and right into your child's heart...
--Mother's Manual

Gorgeously illustrated, brilliantly innovative...
--The New York Times Book Review

Watch a Video

When Sophie Gets Angry - Really, Really Angry

When Sophie Gets Angry - Really, Really Angry

$17.99
More Info
This beautifully designed book tells the story of a little girl named Sophie, who learns that it's okay to be angry.

Everybody gets angry sometimes. For children, anger can be very upsetting. Parents, teachers, and children can talk about it. People do lots of different things when they get angry. In this Caldecott Honor book, kids will see what Sophie does when she gets angry. What do you do?