View your shopping cart.

Primary links

Sandy is a huge fan of well-written memoirs, as a way to crawl inside another's experience and make you think. This year her memoir book club will focus on food-related memoirs - and of course she'll serve the fabulous food connected with the author. By no means are the reads only authored by chefs, that's for sure - we will read and discuss really really good books by people for whom food is something of a focus. Maybe even especially home cooking. Sandy will be joined by Karen Diersen in leading the group, and Karen as always is the smartest but nicest person in the room.


Purchase of the memoir from PPB is required for attendance; buy your ticket here, online, or call the store to sign up.

Foodoir Bookclub

BLOOD, BONES & BUTTER

BLOOD BONES & BUTTER

$18.00
More Info

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

 

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Miami Herald - Newsday - The Huffington Post - Financial Times - GQ - Slate - Men's Journal - Washington Examiner - Publishers Weekly - Kirkus Reviews - National Post - The Toronto Star - BookPage - Bookreporter

Before Gabrielle Hamilton opened her acclaimed New York restaurant Prune, she spent twenty hard-living years trying to find purpose and meaning in her life. Blood, Bones & Butterfollows an unconventional journey through the many kitchens Hamilton has inhabited through the years: the rural kitchen of her childhood, where her adored mother stood over the six-burner with an oily wooden spoon in hand; the kitchens of France, Greece, and Turkey, where she was often fed by complete strangers and learned the essence of hospitality; Hamilton's own kitchen at Prune, with its many unexpected challenges; and the kitchen of her Italian mother-in-law, who serves as the link between Hamilton's idyllic past and her own future family--the result of a prickly marriage that nonetheless yields lasting dividends. By turns epic and intimate, Gabrielle Hamilton's story is told with uncommon honesty, grit, humor, and passion.

 

Features a new essay by Gabrielle Hamilton at the back of the book

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

Prune

Prune

$45.00
More Info
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

From Gabrielle Hamilton, bestselling author of Blood, Bones & Butter, comes her eagerly anticipated cookbook debut filled with signature recipes from her celebrated New York City restaurant Prune.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE SEASON BY
Time - O: The Oprah Magazine - Bon Appétit - Eater

A self-trained cook turned James Beard Award-winning chef, Gabrielle Hamilton opened Prune on New York's Lower East Side fifteen years ago to great acclaim and lines down the block, both of which continue today. A deeply personal and gracious restaurant, in both menu and philosophy, Prune uses the elements of home cooking and elevates them in unexpected ways. The result is delicious food that satisfies on many levels.

Highly original in concept, execution, look, and feel, the Prune cookbook is an inspired replica of the restaurant's kitchen binders. It is written to Gabrielle's cooks in her distinctive voice, with as much instruction, encouragement, information, and scolding as you would find if you actually came to work at Prune as a line cook. The recipes have been tried, tasted, and tested dozens if not hundreds of times. Intended for the home cook as well as the kitchen professional, the instructions offer a range of signals for cooks--a head's up on when you have gone too far, things to watch out for that could trip you up, suggestions on how to traverse certain uncomfortable parts of the journey to ultimately help get you to the final destination, an amazing dish.

Complete with more than with more than 250 recipes and 250 color photographs, home cooks will find Prune's most requested recipes--Grilled Head-on Shrimp with Anchovy Butter, Bread Heels and Pan Drippings Salad, Tongue and Octopus with Salsa Verde and Mimosa'd Egg, Roasted Capon on Garlic Crouton, Prune's famous Bloody Mary (and all 10 variations). Plus, among other items, a chapter entitled "Garbage"--smart ways to repurpose foods that might have hit the garbage or stockpot in other restaurant kitchens but are turned into appetizing bites and notions at Prune.

Featured here are the recipes, approach, philosophy, evolution, and nuances that make them distinctively Prune's. Unconventional and honest, in both tone and content, this book is a welcome expression of the cookbook as we know it.

Praise for Prune

"Fresh, fascinating . . . entirely pleasurable . . . Since 1999, when the chef Gabrielle Hamilton put Triscuits and canned sardines on the first menu of her East Village bistro, Prune, she has nonchalantly broken countless rules of the food world. The rule that a successful restaurant must breed an empire. The rule that chefs who happen to be women should unconditionally support one another. The rule that great chefs don't make great writers (with her memoir, Blood, Bones & Butter). And now, the rule that restaurant food has to be simplified and prettied up for home cooks in order to produce a useful, irresistible cookbook. . . . [Prune] is the closest thing to the bulging loose-leaf binder, stuck in a corner of almost every restaurant kitchen, ever to be printed and bound between cloth covers. (These happen to be a beautiful deep, dark magenta.)"--The New York Times

"One of the most brilliantly minimalist cookbooks in recent memory . . . at once conveys the thrill of restaurant cooking and the wisdom of the author, while making for a charged reading experience."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Taste: My Life Through Food

Taste: My Life Through Food

$28.00
More Info
From award-winning actor and food obsessive Stanley Tucci comes an intimate and charming memoir of life in and out of the kitchen.

Stanley Tucci grew up in an Italian American family that spent every night around the kitchen table. He shared the magic of those meals with us in The Tucci Cookbook and The Tucci Table, and now he takes us beyond the savory recipes and into the compelling stories behind them.​

Taste is a reflection on the intersection of food and life, filled with anecdotes about his growing up in Westchester, New York; preparing for and shooting the foodie films Big Night and Julie & Julia; falling in love over dinner; and teaming up with his wife to create meals for a multitude of children. Each morsel of this gastronomic journey through good times and bad, five-star meals and burned dishes, is as heartfelt and delicious as the last.

Written with Stanley's signature wry humor, Taste is for fans of Bill Buford, Gabrielle Hamilton, and Ruth Reichl--and anyone who knows the power of a home-cooked meal.

Tucci Table

Tucci Table

$32.99
More Info
Featuring family-friendly recipes and stunning photography, an all-new cookbook from New York Times bestselling author, beloved actor, and respected foodie Stanley Tucci.

Stanley Tucci's association with wonderful foods began for fans with the movie Big Night and resonated in his role as Julia Child's husband in Julie & Julia. But well before these films, he was enjoying innovative homemade Italian meals throughout his childhood, when family and food were nearly inseparable and cooking was always a familial venture.

Now, in a completely new, family-focused cookbook, Tucci captivates food lovers' imaginations with recipes from his traditional Italian roots as well as those of his British wife, Felicity Blunt, tied together with a modern American ribbon. The time-tested recipes include pasta alla bottarga, mushroom-stuffed trout, pork chops with onions and mustard sauce, barbeque chicken wings, and much, much more! Nothing will make you happier to spend time with family than the aroma of a hearty Italian dish sizzling on the stovetop.

Featuring 100 luscious new full-color photographs, The Tucci Table captures the true joys of family cooking. Buon apetito!

Tucci Table: Cooking with Family and Friends

Tucci Table: Cooking with Family and Friends

$18.99
More Info
Featuring family-friendly "simple to make and magnificently delicious" (Mario Batali) recipes and stunning photography, a practical cookbook from New York Times bestselling author, beloved actor, and respected foodie Stanley Tucci.

Stanley Tucci's association with wonderful foods began for fans with the movie Big Night and resonated in his role as Julia Child's husband in Julie & Julia. But well before these films, he was enjoying innovative homemade Italian meals throughout his childhood, when family and food were nearly inseparable and cooking was always a familial venture.

Now, in this family-focused cookbook, Tucci captivates food lovers' imaginations with recipes from his traditional Italian roots as well as those of his British wife, Felicity Blunt, tied together with a modern American ribbon. The time-tested recipes include pasta alla bottarga, mushroom-stuffed trout, pork chops with onions and mustard sauce, barbeque chicken wings, and much, much more! Nothing will make you happier to spend time with family than the aroma of a hearty Italian dish sizzling on the stovetop.

Featuring 100 luscious, full-color photographs, The Tucci Table captures the true joys of family cooking. Buon appetito!

2021 Foodoir #2: Blood, Bones and Butter, 8/12/21, 6:30pm

2021 8/12/21 6:30pm Foodoir Book Club #2: Book=-Blood, Bones and Butter Memoir, Memoir, not Cookbook, included in price - customer should buy in advance to read

$18.00
More Info

2021 Foodoir #2: Blood, Bones and Butter, 8/12/21, 6:30pm

2021 Foodoir #3: Tastes: My Life Through Food, 11/11/21, 6:30pm

2021 Foodoir #3: Tastes: My Life Through Food, Memoir but not Cookbook included in ticket price,11/11/21, 6:30 PM

$28.00
More Info

2021 Foodoir #3: Tastes: My Life Through Food, 11/11/21, 6:30 PM