View your shopping cart.

Primary links

Middle Reader

ALEX RIDER - Stormbreaker (#1)

ALEX RIDER - Stormbreaker (#1)

$8.99
More Info
Alex Rider is now an IMDb TV/Amazon Original Series!

Meet the orphan turned teen superspy who's saving the world one mission at a time--from #1 New York Times bestselling author!

They said his uncle Ian died in a car accident. But Alex Rider knows that's a lie, and the bullet holes in the windshield prove it. Yet he never suspected the truth: his uncle was really a spy for Britain's top secret intelligence agency. And now Alex has been recruited to find his uncle's killers . . .

Alex Rider's is debut mission is packed with bonus material - including an extra Alex Rider short story, a letter from Anthony Horowitz, and much more!

From the author of Magpie Murders and Moriarty.

"Slam-bang action, spying and high-tech gadgets . . . a non-stop thriller!"--Kirkus Reviews

Amulet Bk 7, Firelight

Amulet Bk 7, Firelight

$12.99
More Info
The unforgettable seventh installment of Kazu Kibuishi's #1 New York Times bestselling series!

Emily, Trellis, and Vigo visit Algos Island, where they can access and enter lost memories. They're hoping to uncover the events of Trellis's mysterious childhood -- knowledge they can use against the Elf King. What they discover is a dark secret that changes everything. Meanwhile, the Voice of Emily's Amulet is getting stronger, and threatens to overtake her completely.
Arabian Nights

Arabian Nights

$17.99
More Info
From Lebanese writer Wafa' Tarnowska and Spanish artist Carole Hénaff, this magnificent new edition of The Arabian Nights brings together famous and less familiar tales from A Thousand and One Nights and includes the frame story of Shahrazade and Shahriyar.
Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret. (Reprint)

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret. (Reprint)

$9.99
More Info
Margaret shares her secrets and her spirituality in this iconic Judy Blume novel, beloved by millions, that now has a fresh new look.

Margaret Simon, almost twelve, likes long hair, tuna fish, the smell of rain, and things that are pink. She's just mo

Artemis Fowl #03: The Eternity Code

Artemis Fowl #03: The Eternity Code

$8.99
More Info

From New York Times best-selling author Eoin Colfer comes his third book in the Artemis Fowl series about a teenage criminal mastermind and his siege against dangerous, tech-savvy fairies.


The world that Colfer creates is as vivid and fantastical as any shire, gotham, or galaxy far, far away in recent memory.--Entertainment Weekly


Artemis Fowl is going straight. As soon as he pulls off the most brilliant criminal feat of his career.


At least, that's the plan when he attempts to sell his C Cube, a supercomputer built from stolen fairy technology. When his efforts to broker a deal for the Cube with a powerful businessman go terribly wrong, his loyal bodyguard and friend Butler is mortally injured. The only thing that will save him is fairy magic, so once again he must contact his old rival, Holly Short.


It's going to take a miracle to save Butler, and Artemis's luck may have just run out.



Bad Guys in the Baddest Day Ever (the Bad Guys #10), Volume 10

Bad Guys in the Baddest Day Ever (the Bad Guys #10), Volume 10

$5.99
More Info
NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE!

"I wish I'd had these books as a kid. Hilarious!" -- Dav Pilkey, creator of Captain Underpants and Dog ManThey may look like Bad Guys, but these wannabe heroes are doing good deeds... whether you like it or not! This New York Times bestselling illustrated series is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants.All hail Crown Prince Marmalade! Surrender to his evil magnificence! Kneel before his butt-handed glory! Or...like...DON'T! The Bad Guys and even Badder Girls might have been knocked down, but does that mean they'll stay down? No way, chicos! Pull on your party pants-it's the ultimate battle between Bad and BAAAAAAD!
Booked

Booked

$8.99
More Info
New York Times Bestseller National Book Award Longlist ∙ ILA-CBC Children's Choice List ∙ ALA Notable Children's Book ∙ Book Links' Lasting Connections ∙ Kirkus Best Book ∙ San Francisco Chronicle Best BookWashington Post Best Book∙ BookPage Best Book

"A novel about a soccer-obsessed tween boy written entirely in verse? In a word, yes. Kwame Alexander has the magic to pull off this unlikely feat, both as a poet and as a storyteller. " -- The Chicago Tribune

Can't nobody stop you
Can't nobody cop you...

In this follow-up to Newbery-winner The Crossover, soccer, family, love, and friendship take center stage. Twelve-year-old Nick learns the power of words as he wrestles with problems at home, stands up to a bully, and tries to impress the girl of his dreams. Helping him along are his best friend and sometimes teammate Coby, and The Mac, a rapping librarian who gives Nick inspiring books to read.

This electric and heartfelt novel-in-verse by poet Kwame Alexander bends and breaks as it captures all the thrills and setbacks, action and emotion of a World Cup match! Now in paperback.

Breadwinner (Anniversary)

Breadwinner (Anniversary)

$9.95
More Info

All girls [should read] The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis. -- Malala Yousafzai, New York Times

The first book in Deborah Ellis's riveting Breadwinner series is an award-winning novel about loyalty, survival, families and friendship under extraordinary circumstances during the Taliban's rule in Afghanistan in the late 1990s.

Eleven-year-old Parvana lives with her family in one room of a bombed-out apartment building in Kabul, Afghanistan's capital city. Parvana's father -- a history teacher until his school was bombed and his health destroyed -- works from a blanket on the ground in the marketplace, reading letters for people who cannot read or write. One day, he is arrested for the crime of having a foreign education, and the family is left without someone who can earn money or even shop for food.

As conditions for the family grow desperate, only one solution emerges. Forbidden to earn money as a girl, Parvana must transform herself into a boy, and become the breadwinner.

The fifteenth anniversary edition includes a special foreword by Deborah Ellis as well as a new map, an updated author's note and a glossary to provide young readers with background and context. All royalties from the sale of this book will go to Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan. Parvana's Fund supports education projects for Afghan women and children.

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts:

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.5.3
Compare and contrast two or more characters, settings, or events in a story or drama, drawing on specific details in the text (e.g., how characters interact).

CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RL.6.3
Describe how a particular story's or drama's plot unfolds in a series of episodes as well as how the characters respond or change as the plot moves toward a resolution.

By the Shores of Silver Lake

By the Shores of Silver Lake

$8.99
More Info
Meet Laura Ingalls...the little girl who would grow up to write the Little House books. Pa heads west to the unsettled wilderness of the Dakota Territory. When Ma, Mary, Laura, Carrie, and Grace join him, they become the first settlers in the town of De Smet. And Pa begins work on the first building in what will soon be a brand-new town on the shores of Silver Lake.
Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot

Captain Underpants and the Sensational Saga of Sir Stinks-A-Lot

$9.99
More Info
Laugh out loud with Captain Underpants, the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Dav Pilkey, the creator of Dog Man!

George and Harold, and their doubles, Yesterday George and Yesterday Harold, have a good thing going. Two of them go to school, while the other two hide in the tree house and play video games all day -- then they switch! But it turns out there's something rotten in the state of Ohio, and it's smellier than a pile of putrid gym socks. The boys' malicious gym teacher, Mr. Meaner, has created a method of mind control that transforms their fellow students into attentive, obedient, perfect children. Now the future of all humanity is in George and Harold and Yesterday George and Yesterday Harold's hands!
Christmas Pig

Christmas Pig

$24.99
More Info
A heartwarming, page-turning adventure about one child's love for his most treasured thing, and how far he will go to find it. A tale for the whole family to fall in love with, from one of the world's greatest storytellers.

One boy and his toy are about to change everything...

Jack loves his childhood toy, Dur Pig. DP has always been there for him, through good and bad. Until one Christmas Eve something terrible happens -- DP is lost. But Christmas Eve is a night for miracles and lost causes, a night when all things can come to life... even toys. And Jack's newest toy -- the Christmas Pig (DP's replacement) -- has a daring plan: Together they'll embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known...

Counting by 7s

Counting by 7s

$8.99
More Info
A New York Times Bestseller

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

* "Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page."--School Library Journal starred review

* "A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet--but never cloying--lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss."--Booklist starred review

* "What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a "person of color"; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant."--The Horn Book starred review

In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph.--Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette