View your shopping cart.

Primary links

Bewilderness

Bewilderness
$26.00
Set in rural, poverty-stricken North Carolina, this beautiful, gritty, and piercing novel follows two young women--best friends--as they journey through the highs and lows of friendship, love, and addiction, perfect for readers of Julie Buntin's Marlena (Erika Carter, author of Lucky You).

Irene, a lonely nineteen-year-old in rural North Carolina, works long nights at the local pool hall, serving pitchers and dodging drunks. One evening, her hilarious, magnetic coworker Luce invites her on a joy ride through the mountains to take revenge on a particularly creepy customer. Their adventure not only spells the beginning of a dazzling friendship, it seduces both girls into the mysterious world of pills and the endless hustles needed to fund the next high.

Together, Irene and Luce run nickel-tossing scams at the county fair and trick dealers into trading legit pharms for birth-control pills. Everything is wild and wonderful until Luce finds a boyfriend who wants to help her get clean. Soon the two of them decide to move away and start a new, sober life in Florida--leaving Irene behind.

Told in a riveting dialogue between the girls' addicted past and their hopes for a better future, Bewilderness is not just a brilliant, funny, heartbreaking novel about opioid abuse, it's also a moving look at how intense, intimate friendships can shape every young woman's life.

ISBN: 
9781646220243
Author: 
Binding: 
Hardcover
Publisher: 
Publication Date: 
June 1, 2021
0